Sean of the South

Sean of the South

Having lived through enough heartache, joy, embarrassment, love, and renewal for several lifetimes, Sean condenses our human failures and triumphs into stories that make the Southern heart resound.

Sean Dietrich, aka Sean of the South, is a multi-instrumentalist, and started playing mandolin when he was seven, guitar at age eight, and played piano in church at age nine.

His wildly popular blog and musical podcast, “Sean of the South,” is suited for anyone with red clay on their car and sand in their shoes. His work has appeared in Newsweek, Reader’s Digest, Southern Living, Garden and Gun, and he has authored fifteen books.

Sean’s one-man shows have earned him a cult-like following in the southeastern United States and among closeted accordion players worldwide. Sean is a master storyteller in the tradition of Will Rogers, Mark Twain, and Lewis Grizzard. His brutally candid, laugh-out-loud, and sometimes painful tales remind us that we are not alone in our human experience. His tales of covered-dish suppers, camp meeting sing-alongs, funerals gone awry, and hounds that have crossed the Rainbow Bridge have audiences drying their eyes one minute and slapping their knees the next.

More Upcoming Events